Divorcees may be eligible to the same kind of premium refund as parents. If your ex-husband or ex-wife stood a poor driving record and you have continued to pay their old surcharged rates simply because they left your family permanently, bring this for the immediate attention of the insurance representative. Visit him effortlessly pertinent and documented information so your premiums can be reduced immediately while the job published here for a premium refund is processed.
The insurance companies hold these transgressions against our records for from three to live years, based upon state law and individual company policy. A couple of transgressions or a combination of two or more moving violations and reported at-fault accidents may not only substantially increase your rates, but will also force you to stick with the same company, paying its high premiums, in the hope of not receiving canceled and thrown in to the assigned risk pool, where it may be even worse.
As an example, suppose you’re New York State driver who received a speeding ticket throughout a winter visit to Florida and you then slid around the ice on the way home, causing $2,000 harm to your car, that you reported in your insurance company.
For example, if you were separated or divorced a year ago but forgot which you were still paying a $600 premium using a two-car family, you’d be eligible for an immediate rate reduction to $250 (based on only your car) and a premium refund of $560. Should you have had neglected to tell your insurance company for two years, choosing entitled to a $780 refund, etc.
If your insurance carrier procrastinates or refuses outright to pay the refund, your state insurance department (Consumer Affairs Division) will allow you to with a legitimate complaint. Like a last resort, there is a option of utilizing the matter to a small-claims court or your attorney. See sample letters A and B. My adage, a clean record today keeps the high rates away, is truer now than ever before. Since the creation of the computer age, all moving violations and reported accidents appear on your Department of Motor Vehicles (D.M.V.) Report even if they occurred outside the state, while driving a borrowed or rented car, or while driving a business vehicle on the job.